[vc_row][vc_column width=”2/3″][vc_column_text]

Sarajevo Canton

Based on the Constitution of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina (Official Gazette of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, No. 1/94), the Assembly of the Sarajevo Canton, at its session held on 11 March 1996, adopted the Constitution of the Sarajevo Canton, regulating the organisation and status of the Sarajevo Canton and its government structures.

According to the entity borders in Bosnia and Herzegovina under the Peace Accord signed in Paris on 14 December 1995, the area of the city of ​​Sarajevo became a part of the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina, and was organised as a canton (administrative unit) in accordance with the Constitution of the Federation of BiH and the Constitution of Sarajevo Canton. The official name of this canton is the Sarajevo Canton, and its seat is in Sarajevo.

Sarajevo is the capital of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Federation of BiH. Cantonal authorities must ensure full protection of the interests of Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Federation of BiH in the Sarajevo Canton.

The territory of the Canton covers the areas of the municipalities of Centar Sarajevo, Hadžići, Ilidža, Ilijaš, Novi Grad Sarajevo, Novo Sarajevo, Stari Grad Sarajevo, Trnovo and Vogošća as defined under the Peace Accord.

The Sarajevo Canton is located in the Dinaric Alps ridge, at a meeting point of two large natural-geographical units, namely the Podunavlje part of the Danube river basin and the Adriatic Sea. It covers the area of ​​1.268,5 km² which makes up for 2.5 % of the territory of Bosnia and Herzegovina. The Sarajevo Canton is between 43º35 ‘and 44º7’ north latitude, and between 18º0 ‘and 18º38’ east longitude. The distance between the northernmost point of the Canton and the southmost is 62 km, with 52.5 km between the western and eastern point. The total length of the Sarajevo Canton border is 303.5 km.

From the geomorphologic point of view, the Sarajevo Canton is an extremely mountainous area, where 78% of its area is located in a region of over 700 meters above sea level, hilly region between 550 m to 700 m account for 13%, while only 9% belongs to the lowland region. The Sarajevo Canton has two climatic types – continental climate up to 600 meters above sea level, and continental-mountain and alpine type of climate above this altitude.

The Sarajevo Canton area is known for some natural mineral raw materials and its exploitation from pre-Roman times. Natural building materials were mostly used, that is, gravel, sand, clay, dolomite, limestone and quartz sand, and small quantities of manganese, mercury, and drinking water and mineral water for drinking and thermomineral water for spas. Nevertheless, today the most important and most valuable natural resource of the Sarajevo Canton is the drinking water in the Sarajevo plain. The next in line are thermomineral waters of Ilidža and Blažuj, and thermal water in Butmir.

The population of the Sarajevo Canton is estimated at around 400,000.

Source: Government of the Sarajevo Canton[/vc_column_text][vc_custom_heading text=”City of Sarajevo” use_theme_fonts=”yes” el_id=”city” el_class=”fix-scroll-to-anchor” css=”.vc_custom_1499364944391{margin-right: 20px !important;margin-left: 20px !important;}”][vc_column_text el_class=”fix-scroll-to-anchor”]In the Sarajevo Canton, municipalities of Centar, Novi Grad, Novo Sarajevo and Stari Grad make up the City of Sarajevo as a unit of local self-government. The City of Sarajevo in all four of its municipalities has the population of 297,416.

Source: City of Sarajevo[/vc_column_text][vc_custom_heading text=”Diplomatic missions” use_theme_fonts=”yes” el_id=”diplomatic-missions” el_class=”fix-scroll-to-anchor” css=”.vc_custom_1499365190482{margin-right: 20px !important;margin-left: 20px !important;}”][vc_column_text]List of embassies, consulates and international organizations:
mvp.gov.ba[/vc_column_text][vc_custom_heading text=”Academic community” use_theme_fonts=”yes” el_id=”academic-community” el_class=”fix-scroll-to-anchor” css=”.vc_custom_1499365429027{margin-right: 20px !important;margin-left: 20px !important;}”][vc_column_text el_class=”fix-scroll-to-anchor”]

[/vc_column_text][vc_custom_heading text=”Religion” use_theme_fonts=”yes” el_id=”religion” el_class=”fix-scroll-to-anchor” css=”.vc_custom_1499365302611{margin-right: 20px !important;margin-left: 20px !important;}”][vc_column_text el_class=”fix-scroll-to-anchor”]Religious landscape of Sarajevo is unique in Europe – due to its diversity, the city is often compared to Jerusalem. Sarajevo is the seat of the Grand Mufti, the head of the Islamic Community in Bosnia and Herzegovina, the seat of the Dabro-Bosnian Metropolitan of the Serbian Orthodox Church, and the seat of the Vrhbosna Archdiocese of the Roman Catholic Church in Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Downtown Sarajevo, at just a hundred meters away, is a home to many sacred buildings of four world religions – mosques from the Ottoman times, Orthodox, Roman Catholic and Evangelical churches, the synagogue and other cultural and historical landmarks.[/vc_column_text][vc_custom_heading text=”Religious facilities” use_theme_fonts=”yes” el_id=”Religious-facilities” el_class=”fix-scroll-to-anchor” css=”.vc_custom_1499365351485{margin-right: 20px !important;margin-left: 20px !important;}”][vc_column_text el_id=”vjerski” el_class=”fix-scroll-to-anchor”]

[/vc_column_text][vc_custom_heading text=”Cultural Information Centers” use_theme_fonts=”yes” el_id=”cultural-centers” el_class=”fix-scroll-to-anchor” css=”.vc_custom_1499365443289{margin-right: 20px !important;margin-left: 20px !important;}”]

[/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/3″][vc_widget_sidebar sidebar_id=”td-testni”][/vc_column][/vc_row]