Honorary Heart of Sarajevo

This year, the “Honorary Heart of Sarajevo”, the Sarajevo Film Festival Award for outstanding contribution to film art, will be presented to the legendary actor and comedian John Cleese and the multiple Academy Award winner Oliver Stone.

For twelve years now, this award has been given by Sarajevo Film Festival in recognition of individual’s remarkable contribution to film industry in general as well as their support and development of Sarajevo film Festival.


The hearts design, as well as the design of the Festival identity was chosen from the form which has been unofficially used since the start in the early 90ies. The Heart was designed by French fashion designer Agnes Andree Marguerite Troublé, better known as Agnes B., a friend and sponsor of Sarajevo Film Festival who has also received the Honorary Heart of Sarajevo.

Honorary Heart of Sarajevo has been given to just twenty film workers and friends of Sarajevo Film Festival including directors Mike Leigh, Danis Tanović, Stephen Frears, Atom Egoyan, actress Angelina Jolie, actors Gael Garcia Bernal and Steve Buscemi, producer Branko Lustig, director of Rome Film festival – Marco Mϋller and director of Berlinale – Dieter Kosslick.


In 2016, the new award was introduced – Honorary Heart of Sarajevo for Lifetime Achievement and the first winner was actor Robert de Niro.